Jordan Crowned Champion

23 October 2013

Jordan Crowned Champion

Andrew Jordan has won the 2013 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship having held his nerve on a quite thrilling final day of racing at Brands Hatch.

The 24-year-old went into the weekend leading the standings, but with four former champions breathing down his neck. When one of those, Jason Plato, cruised to victory in the first two races it looked as if Jordan may face late heartache.

Jordan had driven tentatively in the first race, but still secured a credible fifth, before disaster struck the Lichfield driver in the second contest. Up to that point he had finished and scored points in all of the season's 28 races, but that run came to a dramatic end in race two of the day.

Embroiled in a four-way scrap for sixth, the Ford Focus of Aron Smith moved down the inside of Rob Collard's BMW and the two cars touched, spinning Collard’s eBay Motors machine into the middle of the circuit. Jordan jinked left to avoid him, leaving the Honda of fellow championship challenger Matt Neal with nowhere to go.

The two clashed and the impact immediately broke Jordan's left rear wheel while Neal was forced to pit with a puncture. Neal’s own title hopes then went up in smoke when a fire broke out in his Honda Civic on the final lap of the race, before exploding into flames shortly after the triple-champion had exited his car.

Plato went on to win while Shedden recovered from his own spin to take seventh, keeping his slim championship chances alive going into the final race of the year. Colin Turkington’s flickering hopes of winning a second BTCC title had already extinguished in race one when he crashed out after unfortunate contact with team-mate Collard.

This left Jordan, Plato and Shedden as the remaining championship contenders going into the final race of an incredible 30-race season.

With the pressure now firmly on him, Jordan had to surge from the back of the grid to score enough points to take the crown. Shedden did his job by leading from start-to-finish, but he still needed a non-score from fellow Honda driver Jordan to retain the title that he’d won himself for the first time last year.

Jordan picked off one car after another during the opening minutes and was up to 11th just five laps in. Plato needed to haul his MG into the podium positions to keep his title hopes alive, but the double champion’s car began to fade after mid-distance.

Jordan had made his way up to ninth and secured the fastest lap of the race, before his team informed him over the radio that the position would be enough to secure his maiden title. Plato had no answer, dropping behind Jordan late on, and although Shedden stormed to another stellar win it was Jordan who had the fans on their feet at the finish.

He added the Independents' Drivers' title to the overall championship and his Pirtek Racing squad won the Independents' Teams' trophy for the second year in succession. There was some consolation for Honda Yuasa Racing, who won the Manufacturers' and overall Teams' titles.

Lea Wood won the inaugural Jack Sears Trophy, which was presented to the Hereford-driver by Sears himself – who was the first ever BTCC champion back in 1958.

Jack Goff closed out his maiden BTCC season by taking a first podium with second in the final race, whilst Airwaves Racing’s Mat Jackson and MG’s Sam Tordoff finished their respective campaigns in style with two rostrums over the course of the day.

Newsletter Signup

Find us on Facebook
Copyright © 2021 Owen Developments  |  All Rights Reserved
Owen Developments Ltd
28 Kingston Business Park
Kingston Bagpuize
OX13 5AS

t: 01865 821062
Seeking Advice?
Please fill in the form below.
*Your name is required.
*Your email address is required.*Please enter a valid email address.
 Exceeded maximum number of characters.

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer/device. By using this site you agree that we may store and access cookies on your device.

The cookies we use are required to make our site work and to gather information on the number of visitors to this website.

This information is ENTIRELY ANONYMOUS; no personal information is captured or stored. To find out more, see our privacy policy.

please click this button to acknowledge that you accept cookies from this site and to dismiss this message